Flesh-eating Squirrels – It’s gone too far

Whoever said – including myself – that imagination and originality are being crashed and shredded into pieces by the avalanche of remakes and sequels was clearly wrong especially in the case of the upcoming horror film Squirrels.

There is absolutely nothing misleading – other than me calling it horror film – about Squirrels. It is, as expected, a bloody and vicious squirrel attack movie. An army of deadly, flesh-eating – but cute – squirrels start attacking people, biting them and leaving them bleeding while in panic. But just like the line reads, hold on to your nuts, and we’ll be expecting this masterpiece sometime soon.

Timur Bekmambetov (known for Wanted and Abraham Lincoln: Vampire Hunter ) seems to stand behind this new endeavor, as reported by thehollywoodgossip.com. I only want to believe that this is a joke, otherwise no sensible human being could ever explain the reason for producing such a movie – which by the way I am totally promoting by writing a post about it.

It sort of scares me, though, the thought of starting to use all different kinds of animals to alert and scare the audiences. Naturally, the use of sharks, spiders, even cockroaches makes more sense than making tiny, furry creatures bite fingers and noses.

I really do hope this production is just random and it’s not becoming a thing. Otherwise we shouldn’t be surprised in the hearing of “Deadly Cockatoos” or “Killing me Fox-ly”.

Comments
14 Responses to “Flesh-eating Squirrels – It’s gone too far”
  1. If they can make a feature horror movie about a giant Tasmanian Devil running rampant in America (Cemetery Gates… just so awful) then nothing is off limits…
    Jordan

    Like

    • maria kriva says:

      Haha , I haven’t seen that one and I honestly don’t know if I want to. Speaking for myself, a horror movie about jellyfish could potentialy scar me for life.. 😀

      Like

      • Ha, I don’t advise it.
        I can understand that! I didn’t realise that I was afraid of jellyfish until I saw Sphere… a particular death in that meant I couldn’t bring myself to watch it again for ages…
        Jordan

        Like

      • maria kriva says:

        Oh I remember! Those little devils! It’s quite surprising there hasn’t been any horror movie with a gigantic killing jellyfish! That could be pretty disturbing…

        Like

      • Ha, yes it could be! I was going to say it could be because they’re not the most charismatic animals… in fact they haven’t even got faces… but then I remembered there are 2 excellent versions of The Blob.
        Jordan

        Like

      • maria kriva says:

        Exactly because they don’t have faces and they are so quiet, they are perfect. – I’m definitely going to have nightmares tonight –
        I’ve heard about the Blob, but I have to admit I haven’t watched it! 🙂

        Like

      • Haha, I think you’re pretty safe on land though.
        Ah well it’s worth seeing one day if you get a chance, Frank Darabont wrote the ’88 version which is a lot of fun.
        Jordan

        Like

      • maria kriva says:

        I will check it out then! 🙂 I think I read somewhere that there’s going to be a remake of The Blob!

        Like

  2. thycriticman says:

    Are the people who make this movie nuts? Seriously, this is a crazy as hell idea. I really cannot comprehend why it is being made. I would never sit down and watch this trash.

    ….Okay, I am totally lying to you. I will 100% be watching this, no matter how bad it is. Looks hilarious!

    Like

    • maria kriva says:

      Haha! I know it sounds so ridiculous but for some reason I will definitely watch this, too! The trailer alone is priceless!

      Like

  3. Laura O says:

    Hilarious! I tell you what, having recently seen Pirhana 3DD (no, I don’t know why, either) and Ghost Shark (I’m clearly a masochist) I quite like the idea of subverting expectations around the creatures that feature in these animals attack films. Hurrah, for killer squirrels!

    Like

    • maria kriva says:

      Haha Pirhana AND Ghost Shark…you are really brave! 🙂
      Well, it’s not the idea that’s wrong in this concept…I mean…a squirrel was nibbling a human finger! haha

      Like

  4. Marinos says:

    Well, I think squirrels MIGHT be a little scarier than SHEEP! http://www.imdb.com/title/tt0779982/?ref_=nv_sr_2

    Like

Leave a Reply

  • Read in Reviews

    Sinister Review

  • Read in Commentary

    Five horror films you must not miss

