How many horror movies feature THE WOODS?

Jane Levy in Evil Dead 2013

Jane Levy in Evil Dead 2013

“There was something in the woods, David… and I think it’s in here with us… now.”says Jane Levy as Mia in the newest version of Evil Dead. In her words lies the concept behind every similar movie set in an evil haunted forest.

It is one of the most common themes in the horror genre and it is clearly a must with no end. The woods don’t only feature in horror movie plots, but in their titles as well. The secluded forest which is either the home of evil witches, or tormented spirits, or demonic presences or even malicious ancient Gods, always stars in the genre.

What is appealing to that is clearly that the woods are creepy – duh . They could be dangerous, mysterious, you can’t be certain of what might live in there and it’s the perfect setting for gruesome murders as their isolated location gives the impression of untraceability and despair.

Some of the most well-known and beloved horror movies have given rise to the creation of more akin movies depicting horrific stories taking place in the woods. The Evil Dead, The Blair Witch Project, The Last House on the Left are all representative examples of how great a horror movie can be when the woods-element is fully exploited.

The Cabin in the Woods

The Cabin in the Woods

Bad examples like Cabin Fever or The Woods are also part of the game and it seems that the number of such movies is increasing to the extent of becoming – if not already there – an exhausting cliché and a cheesy phenomenon.

Here are only a few horror films that feature the woods in their title. Caution: If I included the horror films that feature the woods in their plots as well, the list would probably be too big to handle. If you read the following quickly and out loud, you’ll see how ridiculously funny this is.

Into the Woods (2014)

The Cabin in the Woods (2012)

The Last House in the Woods (2006)

The Woods (2006)

The Watcher in the Woods (1980)

Wake Wood (2010)

Don’t Go in the Woods (1981)

Hidden in the Woods (2014)

Into the Woods (2012)

Don’t Go in the Woods (2010)

Girl in Woods (2013)

A Night in the Woods (2011)

Dark Woods (2010)

Psychos in the Woods (2012)

Monsters in the Woods (2012)

Dead Wood (2007)

The School in the Woods (2010)

The Evil Woods (2007)

The Woods Have Eyes (2007)

Dark Woods (2003)

Mourning Wood (2010)

Phantom of the Woods (2013)

The end (?)

Comments
8 Responses to “How many horror movies feature THE WOODS?”
  1. thycriticman says:

    I actually read them out, but started giggling even before finishing. The woods is a trusted and perfect atmosphere for horror. I can totally understand the reason for its popularity. I also agree with your examples.

    The only we need to get rid of is….PEOPLE TRIPPING OVER LOGS OR BRANCHES. So sick of this cliche that always seems to happen in chase scenes. Come on, we can do without it. Other then that, the woods is very reliable is expressing a loss of hope, and giving the sense of isolation with no one to help, in the heat of danger.

    Speaking of, the recent movie I reviewed called “Jug Face” is something I wanted to recommend to you, as a fellow horror fan. Backwoods village type deal, and quite the original plot.

    Like

    • maria kriva says:

      Haha I know the tripping is always so stupid to watch! We can definitely do without it and I could certainly do without the stereotypical group of five friends who go on a weekend trip! Other than that, I really think the woods are a great setting for horror movies! I had no idea there were so many movies!!

      I will definitely check it out! 🙂 I read your review and it sounds really interesting!

      Like

      • thycriticman says:

        Oh yes, that is another world famous cliche. It would not be half as bad if they actually give us characters we can care about for once.

        No typical asshole guy, cool black guy who never lives, obnoxious whore, nerd/stoner, good girl lead, and second last to die boyfriend.

        What annoys me the most is whenever a multicultural person is cast in a role, they are the first to bite the dust. I do not understand why writers or directors think these formulas work…….

        Like

      • maria kriva says:

        I guess they’ve seen that this formula had worked in the past so they keep repeating it hoping to be at least half as successful as it used to be. Unfortunately, it rarely works! 😛

        Ah yes, these are the exact characters…and they are always as sexy as it gets!

        Like

  2. Well, since I love both Cabin Fever and especially The Woods (its Lucky McKee with his unmatchable ability to translate the inner turmoil of women/girls teaming up with the authoritative presence of Patricia Clarkson and legendary Bruce Campbell in a vivid, utterly unique manner), as well as your previously reviewed Outpost, I’m beginning to think I may simply have bad taste in movies, ha.
    Long live this clichéd, well-trod setting, and (in reference to the above comment) long live fleeing characters tripping over logs or simply over themselves.
    Thanks for the article!
    Jordan
    (P.S. I still think Snow White contains one of the most eerie uses of this setting)

    Like

    • maria kriva says:

      Hahaha! Well Jordan, I really don’t know what to say to that! 😀 The only thing that comes to my mind is that you, too, must be one of those people who loved House of Wax otherwise I give up! haha

      The tripping is extremely funny (and yet annoying), and so is the cell phone that rings at the most inappropriate moment!

      I really love the woods as a setting for horror movies and it was amazing in Snow White indeed! Just reading the movie titles all gathered up is so funny! 😀

      Like

      • Ha, alight, I’ll admit that I did really enjoy it…
        Like you I grew up on these movies, so even if they feature Paris Hilton I’ll still excitedly watch them.

        Haha, I think that’s why 70’s and 80’s horror movies are generally considered the best: no cell phones. A killer cutting a the cord on a land-line is far scarier than a mobile phone having no reception, or loudly ringing.

        I honestly hadn’t heard of 90% of those titles ha! I can’t believe there are so many!
        Jordan

        Like

      • maria kriva says:

        Ah, good! I’m glad I’m not alone in this! haha

        Yes, cell phones and reception were not issues in the 70’s and 80’s movies! The big hair and the bell-bottoms, as well as the thick pale red substance used as blood, were enough to engage the viewer! haha However, I do love the technology used in horror movies nowadays that makes everything so lifelike!

        I have seen some of them, but certainly not many. And to be honest, I am not sure I want to! haha

        Like

Leave a comment

  • Read in Reviews

    Sinister Review

  • Read in Commentary

    Five horror films you must not miss